Skip to content
July 14, 2011 / whirlingneedles

Earworms! Get your earworms here!


Johnny Cash edition!

To the tune of Folsom Prison Blues:

I hear those needles clicklin’
They’re busy knittin’, friends.
But I ain’t seen that yarn
Since I don’t know when.
I’m stuck in No-Knitting Prison
And time keeps draggin’ on.
But those needles keep a clickin’
And sweaters tryin’ on.

When I was just a baby,
My mama told me things,
To always be a good girl, 
Don’t ever play with strings.
But I paid an indie inker
Just to watch her dye.
When I hear those needles clickin’
I hang my head and cry.

I bet there’s rich folks knitting
With silk and bison fur.
They’re probably stitching merino
And listenin’ to cats purr.
But I know I had it comin’
I know I can’t be free.
But those knitting patterns are queued up
And that’s what tortures me.

Well if they freed me from this prison,
If that yarn was mine,
I bet I’d yarn over and 
Knit on down the line
Far from no-knitting prison
That’s where I want to stay.
And I’d let those breezy fleeces
Blow my blues away.

 

To the tune of Walk the Line:

I keep a close watch on this yarn of mine.
I keep the ends woven in all the time.
I keep the mill ends for the bargain time
Because it’s mine,
I knit the line.

I find it very, very easy to find a ewe.
I clip the fleece when each day’s work is through.
Yes, I’ll admit that my sheep is blue
Because it’s Brit,
I knit the line.

As sure as silk is slick and lace is light
I knit my yarn both day and all the night.
And happiness I know proves that it’s right
Because it’s fine
I knit the line.

I’ve got a way to keep it by my side.
A yarn bowl holds it so that it can’t hide.
For good yarn I know I’d buy indie-dyed
Because it’s refined
I knit the line.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LtdEdition / Jul 14 2011 8:54 pm

    What kind of a moron clicks on a link that says ‘Earworms! Get your earworms here!’?

    Thanks. I’ll be thinking of you all night!

  2. RebeLovesBooks / Jul 15 2011 8:50 am

    This is just wrong. Wrong!!

Leave a Reply

