Skip to content
April 24, 2011 / whirlingneedles

Pirate Socks


Ravelry Project page: http://ravel.me/whirlybird/pd

Pattern: Pirate Danger

Yarn: Socks that Rock Lightweight in “True Blood” colorway

Most traveling-stitch patterns that I’ve seen generally feature geometric designs. These socks use traveling stitches to create a skull-and-crossbones pattern! I usually enjoy the challenge of traveling stitches anyway, but making pirate socks was more fun than usual. If only my hands loved the extra strain of moving stitches around!

Finished socks on blockers:

Close-up of the skull-and-crossbones:

So how do traveling stitches work? They work just like cables, in that you are working the stitches out of order. The difference between regular cables and traveling stitches is that you don’t work the cable on the same column of stitches every time, but move the crossed stitches across the field of purl stitches. In this way you can make diagonal lines, as in the crossbones. In many traveling stitch patterns, the knit stitches are frequently twisted to make them stand out better.

This was the first time I’ve used the Socks that Rock yarn. The stitch definition is very good and I love the color. This yarn is somewhat heavier than the typical sock yarns that I used, making rather heavy socks. I haven’t worn them yet, but I think they’ll be warmer than usual – I hope not too warm.

My only complaint about the yarn is the amount of color that came off onto my hands and nails. My left hand especially looks like I have some sort of weird rash or bruising, especially where I tensioned the yarn. This wouldn’t be too bad if the color hadn’t rubbed off my hands onto my Kindle. Yeah, now I have pink smudges on my white Kindle. Guess next time I’ll wash my hands after knitting!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. happymousefairy / Apr 25 2011 1:50 am

    Those are very nice! I’d say pretty, but that seems to jar against the fact that it’s a skull & crossbones design!
    The colour is really good though, I’ll look out for that yarn… But maybe I’ll wash it before knitting…
    Thank you for the excellent pictures 🙂

    • whirlingneedles / Apr 25 2011 5:20 am

      Thank you! The nice thing about the pattern is that you wouldn’t necessarily tell that it’s a skull & crossbones unless you look really closely. From a distance it’s just a nice traveling stitch pattern. 😉

Leave a Reply

