Skip to content
March 10, 2011 / whirlingneedles

The Marvelous Toy


(Apologies to Peter, Paul, and Mary.)

When I was just a wee little girl
Full of health and joy
My mother homeward came one night
And gave to me a toy.
A wonder to behold, it was, with many colors bright,
And the moment I laid eyes on it it became my heart’s delight.

It went knit from the front and purl from the back
And squish when I held it still
And now I know just what it is
And I guess I always will.

The first time that I picked it up, I had a big surprise,
For right in the top row were two big sticks
That almost poked me in the eyes.
I first grabbed one and then the other 
And then I wrapped a stitch.
I’ve never set it down again and this is what it did:

It went knit from the front and purl from the back
And squish when I held it still
And now I know just what it is
And I guess I always will.

I first knit across and then purled back
Then I dropped a stitch.
And when I looked where it had gone it was down to the cast-on edge.
I started to cry but my mother laughed for she knew that I would find
A crochet hook would fix it up if I used it from behind.

It went knit from the front and purl from the back
And squish when I held it still
And now I know just what it is
And I guess I always will.

Well, the years have gone by too quickly, it seems,
I don’t have my own little girl.
But at least I don’t have to share my stash with anyone but me.
Your eyes would nearly pop right out of your head
And you’d give a squeal of glee.
All of Rav know just what it is
And you love it, just like me.

It still goes knit from the front and purl from the back
And squish when we hold it still.
We all know just what it is
And I guess we always will.
We all know just what it is
And I guess we always will.

Leave a Reply

