Skip to content
February 13, 2011 / whirlingneedles

The Knitter


Sung to the tune of Kenny Rogers’s The Gambler:

On a warm summer’s eve in a cabin in the middle of nowhere
I met up with a knitter, we were both too tired to sleep
So we took turns knittin’ on a pair of fingerless mittens
Til boredom over took us and she began to speak.

She said, “Friend, I’ve made a life out of reading people’s stitches.
And knowing what the yarn was by the the way they held their eyes.
And if you don’t mind me saying, I can see you’re out of laces.
For a taste of your cakewaffles, I’ll give you some advice.”

So I handed her my needles and she bound off my last stitches.
Then she bummed a blunt-eyed needle and asked me for some light.
Then the night got deathly quiet, and her face lost all expression.
Said, “If you’re gonna play the game, girl, you gotta learn to play it right.”

You got to know when to throw ‘em, know when to pick ‘em,
Know when to cast off, and know when to frog.
You always count your stitches when you’re casting on the needles.
There’ll be time enough for chocolate, when the cast off’s done.

Now every knitter knows that the secret to surviving
Is knowing what to rip out, and knowing what to keep.
Cause every yarn’s a winner, and every yarn’s a loser.
And the best that you can hope for is a custom dyed sheep.”

And when she finished speaking, she turned back to the knitting.
Wove in all her ends, and faded off to sleep.
And somewhere in the darkness, the knitter she is nice and warm.
But in her final words I found an ace that I could keep.

You got to know when to throw ‘em, know when to pick ‘em,
Know when to cast off, and know when to frog.
You always count your stitches when you’re casting on the needles.
There’ll be time enough for chocolate, when the cast off’s done.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Myriad / May 5 2011 9:24 am

    I *LOVE* this. My roommate is obsessed with this song, so I know it quite well. Think I like your version better 🙂

    • whirlingneedles / May 5 2011 7:11 pm

      Aw, thanks! If only I could get Kenny Rogers to record it! 🙂

  2. Gail / Apr 17 2017 4:52 pm

    Brilliant

Trackbacks

  1. The Fibrous Life of Tabitha Ann Montgomery: Prologue « Star Ten Thousand

Leave a Reply

