Skip to content
February 3, 2011 / whirlingneedles

Invasion from space!


Pattern: Space Invader Converti-Mittens

Yarn: Knit Picks Swish DK in Coal, White, and Peapod

Needle Size: US 2

My mom made the mistake of buying herself a pair of commercially made convertible mittens. They were nice enough to look at, but they were made of itchy, harsh wool. They were bulky, uncomfortable, and tight in the fingers. So I said that I would make her a pair of GOOD convertible mittens. So we went on Ravelry and used the search function to narrow down to a pattern that she liked.

She spotted the Space Invaders mittens and said “I want those.”

I was a little surprised, because someone one does not imagine one’s mother wearing mittens with invaders from space on them.

“Are you sure? You would wear those?”

“Yes, those are the ones I want.”

“Really?”

“Yes, really.”

Finally she convinced me that those were the ones she wanted. Okay, then. I ordered the yarn from Knit Picks. (And tragically had to order a few other things as well. It’s awful how you’re forced to buy more yarn and books and needles than you intended.)

After a few false starts, many rather long floats (LOOOONNGGG floats), and some row gauge issues, I finally finished them! Yesterday I finished weaving in all the ends. (And I mean ALL the ends. Lots of ends.)

So I now present the Space Invaders Convertible Mittens:

(It’s mighty hard to take a picture of your own hands.)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. LtdEdition / Feb 5 2011 9:13 am

    Nice job with the colour-work. Getting the floats right is definitely an acquired skill.

  2. HBD / Feb 5 2011 3:27 pm

    WANT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

