Skip to content
January 23, 2011 / whirlingneedles

First steps


The first step to becoming an expert knitter is to sign up for the Knitting II class, which starts in April. Fortunately, it’s not the “this is called yarn, these are needles” class. It’s still pretty basic for anyone who has been knitting for more than a few months, but that’s okay. It’s always a good idea to refresh the basics.

Apparently we’ll be reviewing basic cast-on, knit, purl, stockinette, garter, ribbing, and binding off. All this will lead to a hat to my measurements.

The danger with this class is not that I won’t be able to keep up or have trouble with the material. No, the danger is that I will be going to WEBS for six Saturday mornings. This could get expensive FAST. It will be difficult to resist deciding that I “need” a few skeins of sock yarn. Or, gee, doesn’t that DK weight superwash merino feel awfully nice?

The actual class itself is only $60. I shouldn’t need to purchase anything for the class itself – I have lots of needles and stray balls of yarn that I can use to practice on and make the hat with. We’ll see if I can make it through the classes without spending myself out of a retirement fund.

Leave a Reply

